SonarQube 7.1 Rules

Hello All,
Since I’m new to SonarQube, please excuse me if this is something obvious.
We are using two instances of SonarQube:

• the old one, version 5.6.3
  • the new one, version 7.1 (build 11001)

The thing is, the rules on the “new” instance are completly messed up, for example:
When I check the squid:ModifiersOrderCheck on both of the instances, they show completely different rules, and the one on the new instance is obviously wrong:

Can anyone explain me what could be the reason of this behavior? Where to look, what to change? If I should provide any additional information - let me know. I didn’t configured any of those instances so any tip regarding a possible fix would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Kind regards,
Damian

Hi,

At a guess, you have scrambled ElasticSearch indices (you didn’t try to do an in-place upgrade, did you?). Try this:

• stop server
  • delete $SONARQUBE_HOME/data/es5
  • restart server

Ann

1 Like

Hello Ann,
Thank you very much for your reply!
To be honest with you, it’s more kind of a “legacy” situation, I didn’t do the upgrade :slight_smile: Can you please explain to me what is the reason that ElasticSearch indices mixed up our SonarQube rules? I would really appreciate that :slight_smile:
Thank you very much in advance!
Kind regards,
Damian

HI Damian,

At the moment, I’m not certain they have; it’s just a strong suspicion. But that is why I asked if you did an in-place upgrade. In fact even if we confirm that’s the problem, I won’t be able to tell you what happened. If you really want to pursue it I’ll have to call in some help.

Ann

Hello Ann,
Thank you once again for your message - for now, I will check if the solution you provided will help with our mixed up rules, if not - I will allow myself to contact you once again :slight_smile: Thanks!
Kind regards,
Damian