Integrate SonarQube v8.5 with BitBucket v7.2.3

I am very new to SonarQube and have installed the product (v8.5) under Centos 7 running on an Azure VM.
What we do not understand now is how to use our SonarQube server with our BitBucket on-premise server.

We thought we just install an add-on to BitBucket but when we try to add from the marketplace ( SonarQube™ for Bitbucket Server) we get error:
“SonarQube™ for Bitbucket Server cannot be installed by the UPM”

We have also been told now that actually we only need the BitBucket add-on and no need to have a separate SonaQube server.

Any guidance gratefully received.

Kind regards
Jon

Hi Jon,

Welcome to the community!

To be clear, you’re talking about Include Code Quality for Bitbucket | Atlassian Marketplace ?

Ehm… I may sound biased when I say this, but… you need your own server.

First, the marketplace extension appears to be a connector between the two, but

• it’s not ours, so sorry but we can’t help you with it
  • it talks about decorating your PR in BB Server after PR analysis. If you’re doing PR analysis, that implies SonarQube Developer Edition($), and Developer Edition will do the decoration for you. No 3rd-party add-on necessary.

Second, I have seen scenarios discussed where you “didn’t need” a SonarQube server to get analysis results. In those scenarios what apparently happened in the background:

• spin up a brand new SQ instance with the for-testing-only, empty DB
  • run an analysis with the default profile
  • use web services to extract the data from the “dummy” SQ and mark up the repo as necessary
  • turn off the dummy SQ, discarding all data

The things you don’t get with this:

• performance. Okay, spinning up an empty SQ doesn’t take hours, but do you really want to add those couple minutes to every. single. analysis?