Suggestions for docker, sonarqube, and secret keys

Hi,

Apologies if this is not the correct forum for these types of questions, however, I was wondering what would be a good approach for handling sonar-secret files with docker?

What I am trying to achieve, is to create a docker image, where its contents can be stored in source control (not just the image, but the contents used to create the image as well). While using a sonar-secret file as described in the Setting Encryption section.

The issue starts with the secret key being visible in the sonar-secret.txt file, which we don’t want (when stored in our repo). I’ve looked into (but have yet to test) docker secrets, but it looks as if they only work with swarm (which we aren’t using)?

We could try using environment variables, or mounting the sonar-secret.txt file, however, not sure if these are “best practices”. I’m new to both docker and sonarqube, so apologies if I’m asking basic questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

Sonarqube version: v6.7.5

Regards,
Erik

1 Like

Hi Erik,

I think this is not specifically tied to SonarQube, but can relate to many projects and setups. In any case, I think you will have to mount the secret key at runtime, which is likely the more secure approach. At build time would defeat the purpose entirely (but I’m sure you got that already), and via environment variables is not really supported in SonarQube for this particular case (yet).

I’m not sure what the general agreed-upon best practice is within the Docker community, but from my experience, here’s some things I would explore and discuss with the team, to see what fits your organization:

Storing the encryption key in the repo