How to merge branch analysis into master?

SonarQube 8.6, Developer Edition

Hi, I’m really new to SonarQube, so please forgive my lack of expertise!

I want the issues set to “False Positive” or “Won’t fix” on a development branch merged back into the master branch. But these issues keep showing after merging the branch into master.

That’s what I did:

1. I created a new branch for my project at Gitlab.
  2. I defined the sonar-project.properties file for my project.
  3. I executed sonar-scanner and got the branch analysis on SonarQube.
  4. I reviewed some of the reported issues, fixed some at code, changed some others to “False Positive” / “Won’t Fix”
  5. I executed sonar-scanner again, fixed issues are closed, and other issues are kept (good!)
  6. I submit a Merge Request at Gitlab, and my branch gets merged into the master branch.
  7. I checkout my project’s master branch and pull the changes. I confirm my changes have been merged.
  8. I edit the sonar-project.properties file, so the analysis is done in the master branch.
  9. I execute sonar-scaner again (on the master branch)
  10. I expected the master branch at SonarQube to have the “False positive” / “Won’t fix” issues to be resolved, but there they are, reported as open issues again.

Any guideline on how to make this work?
Thanks a lot!

Hi,

Issues aren’t synchronized between branches. Instead, make sure your merge request is analyzed and do your issue maintenance there. Then you should see your FP/WF statuses carry over.

HTH,
Ann

Hi G Ann,
thanks for your answer! But I think I didn’t explain the scenario well enough, sorry.

I’m working in just one branch, I don’t want to synchronize issues between branches.
I just expect the SonarQube issues set to FP/WF in this branch to be resolved in master once the git merge request is merged into master.

Does it make sense now?

Hi,

Again, to make that happen, you need to mark the issues FP/WF on the merge request.

Ann

Hi Ann,