Analysis being run on branch without activity! Why?

We have code analysis set to analyze our Master branch. We had code freeze and had not checked any other code into that branch since September 23rd. However, SonarCloud is still running analysis on the branch even though nothing is being checked into that branch and keeps reporting passing and failing scores. Why is this happening?

Hello @naestrolay,

The analysis is always triggered by something external to SonarCloud (generally a trigger that comes from the SCM, but it can be also a periodic scheduling of the job in the CI)
Can you provide more details on your overall devops environment ?

Olivier

I have a master branch which is a long-living branch and a development branch which the devs work off of. From that, they have feature branches to work concurrently. I’m using this pattern in Sonar. Long living branches pattern: (branch|master|dev|release).*

The devs create branches with “feature” or “fix” in the name so I have omitted those from the analysis. I only want to analyze the master and the dev branch for our security report and so that the devs can see what the analysis is before merging back to master.

Thanks for the additional details.

This does not change much the problem: I can only see 2 possible reasons for the scan to happen on a branch where there is no new code:

• Your CI tool is configured to trigger builds on a periodic basis even if no new code landed on the branch, a feature that’s available in many CIs.
    If you are using SonarCloud autoscan feature, forget this case, scans are only triggered on commit (an no CI is really involved in the process)
  • There are some files changed on the branch, but files that are not source code (eg a config file or whatever). This will trigger a build+scan (trigger on commit/push) but obviously SonarCloud will find not modified source code since the files that were changed are not source code

Can yo provide details on your CI set up ?

Olivier