Upgrade from 8.7.1 community edition to 8.9 LTS community edition

Short version:

• I am using SonarQube community edition 8.7.1 build 42226. H2 database.
  • I am trying to upgrade to 8.9.1 LTS
  • I have tried to copy the data folder from the old version but when starting sonarqube the system complains saying that i need to backup the DB and setup / browse

Long version:

I am completely new to Sonarqube and static code analysis. I have inherited a system that was used to check data quality for a Java project. The person that performed the checks used the 8.7.1 community edition with embedded H2 database.

Reading around I found that 8.7 is not supported and upgrade to LTS 8.9 version is recommended. Also I found out that 8.9 supports dependency checks of the libraries imported in the project.

So with all this in mind I have a few questions:

• What is the best way to upgrade to 8.9 LTS version? I have exported the XML with the rules but I would like to import also the analysis information performed under 8.7.1

• What is your advice for my setup? I see comments that the embedded H2 DB is only advisable to use it for testing purposes. I am running this in an isolated laptop running Windows 7/10 so scans are local. I am wondering if to avoid future issues in case we want to upgrade to another LTS community edition or change to a developer or enterprise edition if it is best to use postgresql, sql server (or express) or any other database? I am not planning to have a connected central sonarqube server in our network (at least in the foreseeable future).

Hey there.

Like the big warning says when using an embedded database:

The embedded database will not scale, it will not support upgrading to newer versions of SonarQube, and there is no support for migrating your data out of it into a different database engine.