SonarQube Trigger a rule check from another rule inside plugin

Hello Sonar Community,
I am a newbie to sonar and using a java plugin(GitHub - I8C/sonar-flow-plugin: A sonarqube plugin to analyse webmethods flow code) to scan the potential bugs in a flow language. I was able to achieve 90% of the use-cases except for one.
Usecase: I have two sources for scan. one for flow scan using the java plugin. Second one is having an xml configs. Intention here is, first scan the flow for a condition and if its true, then scan the second source should be checked(The xml config files).
I have tried this approach so far, but havent reached goal completely.
Inside the java plugin, was able to scan flow and check for the first condition. However, after first condition is true, then the scan should happen on another source path having xml config file. What’s the ideal approach here?
Note; I saw that my second condition can be achieved using Xpath check extension, but this should be triggered from a java plugin. So desperately looking for a guidance here :slight_smile:
In Summary:

1. Check one rule from java plugin on one source path.
  2. If first rule is true, then scan another source path having xml configs.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hello @niteesh22,

Thank you for reaching out and bringing up such an interesting question! It’s definitely a good way to start your journey in the Sonar Community, so welcome!

Before I dig more into this issue I need you to give me some more details and clarify a few things:

1. What do you mean by “two sources for scan”? What do you mean by source? Could you share the project or a simplified version of it to clarify what you have?
  2. What is the condition that you want to verify on the first source?
  3. Why would you scan the two sources conditionally? What would be the problem in scanning both of them?
  4. How did you scan for your first condition inside the Java plugin?