SonarQube 8.0 results mysteriously disappeared

SonarQube: 8.0
Scanner: 3.2.0.1227
Running code analysis on my development laptop

I’ve been using SonarQube for a few months. Yesterday while working on a single file to deal with a Cognitive Complexity issue, I periodically ran an analysis to check my progress. Everything looked fine, then suddenly after running an analysis a bunch of Security Hotspot and Code Smell issues disappeared from the results. I had not made any changes to address those issues!
Notably, of the 50 Security Hotspot issues I had before, only one remains, and it is one of 28 similar issues that should still be in my results. Code Smell issues dropped from 67 to 28.

What could possibly be the cause? As far as I know NOTHING CHANGED between the previous analysis and the one that does not include all of the issues.

I hope someone in the community can help!

Thanks

Hello @wlevy888,

Well, I guess you know that there is nothing mysterious in computing, only things that we don’t understand :slight_smile:

There are 2 ways to look at this:

• at the analysis level (scanner execution): is the analysis scope is the same? ie. the files where you had issues are still analyzed? Can you see them in SonarQube?
  • at the SonarQube level: are rules still enabled (ie. Quality Profile)? Are you sure you are not only looking only at a specific branch? Or only in the New Code period?

I hope it will help.

Hi,

in addition to Antoine’s post, this might also be related to elastic search !?
You may try a full elastic search reindex, see
https://docs.sonarqube.org/latest/faq/ and => How do I trigger a full ElasticSearch reindex?

Gilbert

1 Like

Thank you, Antoine. As I said, I didn’t change anything between the analysis showing 50 security hotspots and the analysis showing only one hotspot, other than a few lines of code in a single file.