Improvements not showing

Im using SonarQube Developer Edition Version 9.5 (build 56709)
I’m building C++ code with the linux x86 BiildWrapper. I don’t have any special plugins.
I’m integrating SonarQube with Jenkins and Bitbucket.

I’m fairly new to SonarQube, and I quite like that its easy to setup. However, there are a few things that I wonder if its possible to do. I can’t seem to find my question after some limited research.

So here’s my problem.

When I push a branch that originates from master I do not get the difference from master. It seems that I need at least two commits on my branch to get any “new code analysis”. This breaks as we continously squash our history. Thus, I only get the “new code” analysis once I merged a branch to master. I tried changing the Project setting for “New code” to reference branch master, but this did not change in subsequent analyses as far as I could tell.

The new code analysis also only shows that I may have introduced some issues, not all the issues that I removed. Thus, the analysis often become “failed” even though I may have resolved many issues. Alas, If i removed several critical, and introduced one minor issue the analysis will still “fail”.

What I would like is to always compare a branch to master, and I would also like to see the improvements. Are there any settings to achieve this, or any plugins?

Hi,

Welcome to the community!

Yes, this has been on the list for a long time, but just hasn’t bubbled to the top yet.

This is and is not on purpose.
The “is” part: If you’re just looking at raw issue counts, then as you alluded, you could fix 3 minor issues and introduce 2 blockers, and still look good with a reduced issue count. That’s why we focus the default Quality Gate on New Code so that newly introduced issues don’t get lost in the shuffle.