Force re-analysis of a repository?

Hello, I am very new to SonarCloud and I was wondering if there’s an option on how to force SonarCloud to force an additional analysis for a repository. Otherwise, I would wonder how frequently does SonarCloud analyze a repository for potential bugs etc.

Thanks for your time

Hi @jasperan ,

Welcome to the community!
To help me answering your question, could you clarify what Git provider (e.g. GitHub, Azure, etc…), and which Analysis Method (e.g. Automatic Analysis, or CI based: Travis, Circle CI, etc…) you are using?

Regards,
@AlxO

Hi Ignacio,

The general idea is that SonarCloud analyzes your code every time you make a change to the main branch or to a pull request branch (or to some other branch if you have set that up).

The details depend on the analysis method you use (Automatic analysis vs CI-based analysis) and that depends, primarily, on the language you want to analyze.

I recommend having a look at the docs to familiarize yourself with how it all works:

https://sonarcloud.io/documentation

Hi, thank you both for your responses.
@AlxO it’s GitHub. I think it’s automatic analysis what we have. I also think we only have capabilities to analyze the code in the main branch, because the other development branches are not showing up.

@Peeter_Piegaze great! I will make sure to check out the documentation provided. The repository has something like 98% Python code insofar. Do you know if a draft pull request would still triger code analysis?

Since your repo is Python, when you imported it SonarCloud will have immediately kicked-in to automatic analysis mode. This means that you don’t have to set anything else up in a build pipeline or anything like that.

So, every time you open a PR, commit to a PR, merge a PR into the main branch or commit directly to the main branch an analysis should be triggered.