Strange lines of code count and other questions

SonarQube Developer edition 10.1

Scanner 4.8.0.2856, later on 5.0.1.3006

C++

Using build-wrapper to build, sonar-scanner.bat to analyze.

Hi,

I’m a SQ beginner, evaluating SQ for C++ projects in my company.

While attempting to analyze a few c++ vcxproj-s, I hit our max of 500K lines, and analysis failed of course.

Here’s some more information with questions that came along the way.

I built only 3 projects out of 50 with the buildwrapper command line:

build-wrapper-win-x86-64.exe –out-dir SonarQube “path-to-MSBuild.exe” /t:Rebuild path-to-solution.sln

This produced the two build-wrapper files, log and json. Then:

Scenario 1 (good):

I ran sonar-scanner.bat, passing it the explicit 3 folders of the project (using -D”sonar.sources=PRJ\proj1,PRJ\proj2,PRJ\proj3”), where PRJ is the top directory.

That produced a useful report, and the “line of code” reported was 9.3k.

Scenario 2 (bad):

As a test for preparing a bigger build, without running a new build, I ran the scanner command again, this time passing it the top project directory, i.e. -D”sonar.sources=PRJ”.

This time, in the command line output, the analysis was reported as successful (“ANALYSIS SUCCESSFUL, you can find the results at: …”), however the report webpage showed the error “Server-wide lines of code total to exceed your 500000 limit”.

Scenario 3 (bad):

I hid most of the projects in the PRJ folder, by moving them outside altogether. That left the 3 original projects and an additional 3 others.

Ran the previous bat command again, and still reached the 500K limit, although my counting of the lines revealed about 40K, counting the lines in all *.* files – i.e. even in non-source files.

I made sure the lines count wasn’t accumulating, by removing the extra 3 folders, leaving the original 3 – and this time the report was successful again, and the line count was 9.3k.