SonarQube MSBuild Issues - new user here

Good Afternoon Everyone,

I am a new SonarQube user who has successfully conducted code analysis using my current SonarQube configuration on simple “hello world” type .NET projects.

I get errors however during the “sonar-scanner-msbuild-4.6.0.1930-net46\SonarScanner.MSBuild.exe begin” step when I attempt to analyze projects with many “…\packages” references in the analyzed project’s .csproj file. Errors are related to missing “…\packages” content .

I assume that I may be missing a NuGet component or other plugin but am not sure. I am using Visual Studio 2019 Professional for MSBuild and my sonar-scanner version is shown above.

Any help would be much appreciated. As stated above, I’m new to SonarQube and my .NET development experience is dated as well.

Thank you very much.

Greetings,

Can you share the exact error message and where it appears in the process of your scan/build (the more logs you can share, the more we can help!)

Colin

Thank you for your reply. Please note that for the specific error detailed below I changed the “…\packages\OctoPack.3.5.2\build\OctoPack.targets” reference path in my .csproj file to get past that specific error. However other “…\packages” files were missing and created new errors. I hope that makes sense.

Here are the error results from starting step to point of error:

C:\Users\CMD\Downloads\Test14>C:\Users\CMD\Downloads\sonar-scanner-msbuild-4.6.0.1930-net46\SonarScanner.MSBuild.exe begin /k:“sample14” /n:“sample14” /v:“1.0”
SonarScanner for MSBuild 4.6
Using the .NET Framework version of the Scanner for MSBuild
Pre-processing started.
Preparing working directories…
07:58:30.854 Updating build integration targets…
07:58:30.885 Fetching analysis configuration settings…
07:58:32.432 Provisioning analyzer assemblies for cs…
07:58:32.432 Installing required Roslyn analyzers…
07:58:32.87 Provisioning analyzer assemblies for vbnet…
07:58:32.87 Installing required Roslyn analyzers…