Sonarqube helm deployment is crashing on running the init-sysctl container

Must-share information (formatted with Markdown):

• which versions are you using SonarQube 9.9-LTS (lts-community tag)
  • how is SonarQube deployed: Helm
  • what are you trying to achieve deploy working sonarqube
  • what have you tried so far to achieve this deploying the helm chart with helm install helm install sonarqube sonarqube/sonarqube

Do not share screenshots of logs – share the text itself (bonus points for being well-formatted)!

Hi I am new to sonarqube and we are trying to deploy the official helm chart. Unfortunatelly there is a problem with the init-sysctl container. It is crashing and stopping the whole deployment.

We tried first to deploy the basic chart by the documentation:

helm repo add sonarqube https://SonarSource.github.io/helm-chart-sonarqube
helm repo update
kubectl create namespace sonarqube
helm upgrade --install -n sonarqube sonarqube sonarqube/sonarqube

But executing it results in:

pod/sonarqube-sonarqube-0   0/1     Init:CrashLoopBackOff   6 (46s ago)   6m14s

We were digging around in the logs and found that the init-sysctl container is crashing. This results in sonarqube not deploying.
This is the output of “kubectl logs pods/sonarqube-sonarqube-0 -c init-sysctl” :

sysctl: permission denied on key "vm.max_map_count", ignoring
sysctl: permission denied on key "fs.file-max", ignoring
ulimit -n 131072
/tmp/scripts/init_sysctl.sh: line 10: ulimit: open files: cannot modify limit: Operation not permitted

I’ve tried also to run the newest version, but unfortunatelly it didn’t work.
I am not sure what can I do about this, I’ve tried to use custom values and allow it to run as root, but this seemed not to solve this problem.

What can I do about this?
I would appreciate any help.

1 Like