Setup of initial analysis of pl/sql

Must-share information (formatted with Markdown):

• which versions are you using (SonarQube, Scanner, Plugin, and any relevant extension)
  • what are you trying to achieve
  • what have you tried so far to achieve this
    SonarQube 5.3 (CE),sonar-scanner-cli-4.2.0.1873-linux

I am new to SonarQube but our company is using 5.3 as above and we would like to perform analysis of plsql project. We would ideally like to do this via jenkins integration via plugin.

I know about the plsql lanaguage jar (https://docs.sonarqube.org/latest/analysis/languages/plsql/) and think this needs to be placed in a certain directory so it is visible/accessible as part of configuring Jenkins build steps. I have a few initial questions:

1. We are on old version(5.3) and need an upgrade path, can anyone advise? We might be able to spin up a separate SQ server and move some of these projects to it so we are using the most recent version.
  2. I read that Community Edition does not support PL/SQL analysis and will instead need a developer/enterprise edition, can anyone confirm?
  3. Is it possible with our current setup to install sonar-scanner and/or plsql jar file and trigger analysis via Jenkins with report being sent to SQ server? Would this remove the limitations above or will plsql scan just not run? I know about the sonarscanner for Jenkins plugin that allows us to centralize SQ server config in Jenkins.
  4. Can i have sonar-scanner and SQ server on different machines?

I think I am just a bit confused if sonar-scanner on its own will detect plsql project and perform analysis on it based on plsql rules or if the plsql jar file needs to be added alongside sonar-scanner install.

I appreciate i have asked a lot but thanks in advance for any help.

Hi,

Welcome to the community!

You need to hit the intermediate LTSs, so assuming you want to go all the way to the current version:
5.3 → 5.6.7 → 6.7.7 → 7.9.2 (current LTS) → 8.1 (out this week)