Security check for sensitive data stored as plain text in xml files

Hi all!

I am wondering whether it would be a good idea to add sonar check for xml (or any other properties file) that would ensure that no credentials/api tokens (secrets in general) are stored in our source control as plain text. What do you think about checks like that?

I could also try to contribute some sample checks like that but I wonder what’s the best approach here. Should I contribute to https://github.com/SonarSource/sonar-xml or there is a way to handle it in more generic way to cover more than just xml config files. I am new in sonar plugin development world and would appreciate some advice.

Thanks!

Hello @bartek.wesolowski

Could you provide some example(s) so that we better understand which pattern do you want to catch?
We already have a related rule RSPEC-2068 “Credentials should not be hard-coded”. But for your case I would expect to have a rule with Security Hotspot type.

Hello @Lena, thanks for your answer.

The rule you linked is exactly what I am thinking about but in context of properties files not executable code. I would like to catch patterns like password, basicAuthPass, apiToken, apiKey (and probably many more) that are sometimes present in project configuration files (xml, json, yaml). Security Hotspot sounds like a good idea for issues like that.

Do you think we could implement something like that in Sonar XML Plugin and plugins for other languages? Maybe it could be done in scope of RSPEC-2068 ?

Thanks for your help.
Cheers, Bartek

Hi @bartek.wesolowski ,

Thank you for your suggestion.
Detecting hardcoded sensitive data for XML, JSON, YAML files makes perfect sense. It can indeed be implemented as rule RSPEC-2068 for SonarXML. We don’t have anything yet for JSON and YAML files.

I would however be very careful with the patterns raising issues. Even when passwords seem hardcoded they might in fact not. While searching in Github I could see things like: