No Un-subscription from Event

• Description Forgetting to unsubscribe from events is a frequent cause of memory leaks and or hard-to find bugs. Every event that is subscribed to, should be unsubscribed from as well.
  • Noncompliant Code Any event declaration that has subscribers (+=) but no unsubscribers (-=)
  • Compliant Code Any code where subscriptions and un-subscriptions exist.
  • Edge Cases Can’t think of any right now - maybe the community can?
  • Type: Bug

Hi @norberth,

Thank you for suggesting this rule. It is always appreciated.

I am not a dotnet expert so I did some research to see what kind of false positives we could have. I found the following articles:

Do you agree with these exceptions?

@Pavel_Mikula what is your opinion?

Hello,

I like the rule idea itself. One leaked event reference can prevent large form and all it’s dependencies from being released.

The Weak Reference aggregator is not concern for this issue, since it doesn’t use the += syntax.
The WeakEventHandler can be handled easily and makes sense as an exception.

Problem with this rule is = operator that subscribes the new event and unsubscribes the previous ones. But that’s rarely used in it’s unsubscribing manner.

Major issue is the “same scope” in WPF/WinForms and similar scenarios. It’s typically NOT using -= to unsubscribe local events. Once control is created, event is often added. And the locality of the scope depends on the control tree that the control is added to. For example:

• I create control. I add it to another control. I add that another control to my form/control => it’s local.
  • I create control. I add it to another control. And do nothing => it’s a leak. Or add it to another form => it’s a leak.
  • I create control in own tree, but subscribe the event to a method that’s outside of my tree.

We can’t track that.