Failing to detect some API usage

Hi, good people working on SonarQube!

Let me start with saying that I am not an experienced developer of custom rules. I have only developed a few for my own needs. But here I a stuck.

I am developing a custom rule. In that, I am trying to detect and report usage of sun.awt.CGraphicsDevice.getCGDisplayID() method. Namely, I am failing to detect the classname for the method.

This is a piece of code under the analysis:

new sun.awt.CGraphicsDevice(0).getCGDisplayID();
sun.misc.Unsafe.getUnsafe().defineAnonymousClass(Object.class, new byte[0], new Object[0]);

This is how I get the classname:

((MemberSelectExpressionTree) tree.methodSelect()).expression().symbolType().fullyQualifiedName() 

where tree is a org.sonar.plugins.java.api.tree.MethodInvocationTree.

That gives me just CGraphicsDevice for the first method invocation and not sun.awt.CGraphicsDevice. It works fine for the following invocations in the code.

The other thing which I happen to notice, which may or may not be related, is that the identifier symbol is not a method symbol:

((MemberSelectExpressionTree)tree.methodSelect()).identifier().symbol().isMethodSymbol() gives me false for the first method invocation and true for the latter two method invocations. Also symbol class is org.sonar.java.model.Symbols$UnknownSymbol for the first invocation and org.sonar.java.model.JMethodSymbol for the other two.

The only other thing I was able to check, also perhaps irrelevant, is that, at the other end, Eclipse API (org.eclipse.jdt.core.dom.ASTParser) seems to be giving the same information for all method calls in the code.

Finally, since the method in question is a concealed API, I did try to add appropriate --add-opens, and even --add-exports, none of which helped. I did that for the scanner VM, because that’s where, from what I could understand, the rules code is executed with reflection.