Template for a good new topic, formatted with Markdown:

• ALM used: GitHub

• CI system used: GitHub

• Scanner command used when applicable: default sonarcloud GitHub action

• Languages of the repository: typescript

• Error observed

• Potential workaround: needed

Hello there,

we are at the beginning of our Sonarcloud journey. I’ve successfully implemented the code coverage scan in one of our react app repos. Now our devs get 0% code coverage for lines that can not be tested (see. screenshot).

I’ve tried to Istanbul ignore this, but this does not seem to work (maybe I did something wrong if someone could show me how to ignore lines/functions that would be nice).

How should we handle this behavior?

Thank you very much
jcode

Hey there.

A few things:

Stating all of this – I’m not a TypeScript expert and have no idea if these lines should be considered executable. If not, I wonder if there’s something we can improve in the calculation, so I’ll flag this for a second pair of eyes.

Hey thanks for the quick reply,

I was using Istanbul like that:

and also tried to add it at the top of the file. I made some more digging and found this: Sonar doesn't respect istanbul ignore comments - #2 by ganncamp

maybe Istanbul is not the way to go?

I am aware of the sonar.coverage.exclusions option but I am not sure if this makes for a good developer xp. It is extra maintenance to keep track of all the files a new feature has that uses export const ... in that way. Also basically every initial scan will fail because they seem to use this everywhere. I’m not a typescript developer, but what if I have code that I actually want to test in the same file?

cheers

Hey there.

Dive into your coverage report or a moment (the report you’re passing to SonarCloud) – is this file mentioned? If not, is this specific line mentioned?

The files + lines are mentioned in the coverage report (/coverage/lcov.info). e.g.:

SF:pages/wait/Wait.stories.tsx
FN:18,(anonymous_0)
FNF:1
FNH:1