Creating a SonarQube plugin for UiPath projects

Hello!

I am a developer who works for UiPath and I’m exploring using SonarQube for doing analysis on project created using UiPath Studio. UiPath develops Robotic Process Automation (RPA) software, which makes it easy to automate mundane, repetitive tasks.

I’m looking for help in identifying what would need to be done to integrate with SonarQube. I’ve read the docs and cloned the sample plugin, but I’m not yet sure what route to take for implementation.

A UiPath Studio project lives in a directory that could look like:

SomeProject
SomeProject/project.json
SomeProject/Main.xaml
SomeProject/Init.xaml
SomeProject/SomeFolder/Login.xaml
etc...

The bulk of the analysis would be done on the XAML files, which are pretty much XML files. So I would need to inspect all of the xaml files (checking the attributes and values of each XML element) and also look at the project.json file and any other potential dependencies (ex. Excel files, images, etc…). One thing in particular is that any XAML file can invoke another XAML file, so I would need to sure that that invocation meets all prerequisites (ex. input arguments), so just a static analysis on a single file wouldn’t work there.

I’m not sure what route to take to implement this. For example, would I need to define a language? That seems a bit overkill. Or could everything live in the Plugin somewhere? Any thoughts on what would be the best way to implement this?

Some more specific questions:

• What defines a “language”? A UiPath project is mostly a collection of XAML documents, but it could have other dependencies as well, like the project.json file. Should “UiPath” be implemented as a language?
  • Can I pass around custom objects in the Context? I would probably want to pass around an entire object of the “Project” to the analyzers. Even if it is analyzing an XML node, a rule might need to look at a property of another workflow or the project.json. Is that possible?