Cant start SonarQube service on Azure VM

I’m very new to SonarQube and want to trial it out by setting up the server on Azure VM. I’ve followed the steps outlined in this article:

However, when I get to step 6 and attempt to start the service I get a message returned stating “The service name is invalid” - is there anything else I should do, or could someone advise on an other guides to getting this setup

Hello @alcoalex
Please make sure to follow our official documentation to install SonarQube.
If you still face issue following that please let us know.
Alex.

Hi Alex, many thanks for your response.

I’ve started fresh using the documentation - I’m now getting this error when I run the StartSonar.bat script on my server.

Waiting for Elasticsearch to be up and running
Startup failed: Timed out waiting for signal from JVM.
JVM did not exit on request, terminated
JVM Restarts disabled. Shutting down.

Is there anything you could advise I check?

@alcoalex
I already faced this when I tried to start SonarQube too soon after the boot of the Windows machine.
You may wait a few minutes after the server boot before trying to start SonarQube.
Can you try that and let me know ?
Alex.

@Alexandre_Frigout thanks for your reply. I’ve tried waiting and the error persisted.
I’ve now changed the sonar.path.data and sonar.path.temp values and now get the following error logged on the sonar log:

–> Wrapper Started as Console
Launching a JVM…
Wrapper (Version 3.2.3) http://wrapper.tanukisoftware.org

• Copyright 1999-2006 Tanuki Software, Inc. All Rights Reserved.*

2020.11.18 12:59:25 INFO app[][o.s.a.AppFileSystem] Cleaning or creating temp directory C:\DataTemp
2020.11.18 12:59:25 INFO app[][o.s.a.es.EsSettings] Elasticsearch listening on /127.0.0.1:50398