C# Sql injection not detected in contorller

• ALM used - Azure DevOps
  • CI system used - Azure DevOps
  • Languages of the repository - C#
  • Private Repo

I am new to sonar cloud so please forgive me if this is a simple config issue. I am currently investigating sonar for the company I would for and as part of the investigation, we have created an application with known security risks included. Two of the are SQL and XSS injection, we have run the scan via a dev-ops pipeline following the instructions provided and it has failed to find them.

I believe we have everything set up correctly and I also copied the example from the SQL injection rule of bad code, this was also not picked up. I have put below the code in question which I have confirmed is vulnerable to attack.

[HttpPost]
public async Task<ViewResult> Index([FromForm] string comment)
{

var sql1 = "INSERT INTO `Comments` (`Text`, `UserId`) VALUES ('" +comment+ "', '"+ rnd.Next(1, 20) + "'); ";
    var sql2 = $@"INSERT INTO `Comments` (`Text`, `UserId`) VALUES ('{comment}', '{rnd.Next(1, 20)}');";

await _dapperConnectionWrapper.QueryDbAsync<object>(sql2);

List<Comment> comments = (await _dapperConnectionWrapper.QueryDbAsync<Comment, User, Comment>(
           $@"SELECT * FROM Comments c
                INNER JOIN Users u ON u.id=c.UserId
                ORDER BY c.CreatedDateTime DESC", (comment, user) => {
               comment.User = user;
               return comment;
           },
           splitOn: "UserId")).ToList();

return View(new HomeViewModel()
    {
        Comments = comments
    });
}

Hi Adam and welcome to the community!

In general, those should be found. Is it possible for you to share the whole test application with me? This would make it much easier to search for the problem, thanks!

1 Like

Hi Hendrik

I am sorry for the delay I needed to confirm that we can make the project public. I have put below the repo link

https://dev.azure.com/musicmagpie/_git/Snyk%20Demo

2 Likes