Sonarqube container started to go down randomly

hello,
hoping that all is well. i am very new with sonarqube, so please excuse if my question would sound very basic at times.

we are using version 9.3 developers edition and running both sonarqube and ms sql using containers. we are using an ubuntu linux instance with docker. the VM in azure is a standard F4s v2 with 2 CPUs and 4Gig RAM. couple of plugins, AAD and Groovy are installed. we have around 54 users in the security list so far.

its been running well for the last 2 months but 2 days ago, we noticed that the sonarqube container would randomly go down. it happened at least 8 times until yesterday.

bashed into the sonarqube container and saw couple of errors from the ce.log file (see below).

2022.03.02 16:05:59 ERROR ce[][o.s.c.t.CeWorkerImpl] Failed to pop the queue of analysis reports
org.apache.ibatis.exceptions.PersistenceException:
### Error querying database. Cause: com.microsoft.sqlserver.jdbc.SQLServerException: A timeout occurred while waiting for memory resources to execute the query in resource pool 'internal' (1). Rerun the query.
### The error may exist in org.sonar.db.ce.CeQueueMapper
### Cause: com.microsoft.sqlserver.jdbc.SQLServerException: A timeout occurred while waiting for memory resources to execute the query in resource pool 'internal' (1). Rerun the query.

so far, we just configured the docker update to auto restart the failing container. this “safety net” seems to be working every time the sonarqube container fails BUT if the MS SQL fails, even if it auto restart, sonarqube is complaining that login to the database is failing.

our real issue here is find out why did sonarqube starts failing randomly? is it because of the error that we list above?

would really appreciate your expertise here. thanks much.

Hi,

Welcome to the community!

I would certainly start with this.